Rowan Radio takes top honors at Hermes Awards

Rowan Radio takes top honors at Hermes Awards

Rowan Radio takes top honors at Hermes Awards

Rowan Today, May 2, 2019

Rowan Radio 89.7 WGLS-FM won four Hermes Creative Awards on Thursday in the organization’s annual competition honoring the best in communications and marketing. 

Concussion Protocol: How Concussions Haunt the Game of Football grabbed a Platinum Award in the Audio Program category. The piece centered on the harmful effects of concussions in football through interviews and in-depth research. 

The documentary, produced by Joe Stauffenberg and Sean Remington, also won first place in the Garden State Journalists Association awards competition last month for Best Sports Feature. 

Making A Musician, produced by Justin Brown and Jonathan Baker, also gathered honors in the Audio Program section with a Gold Award. The show detailed the lives of local musicians including what life is like on the road.  

Both Making A Musician and Concussion Protocol were produced in conjunction with Rowan University’s Radio Production course instructed by Rowan Radio Assistant Station Manager Leo Kirschner. 

Meanwhile, Stauffenberg and Brandon Hurson earned a Gold Award in the Audio Sports category for their dramatic call of the 2019 NJAC Men’s Basketball Championship Game between Rowan University and New Jersey City University. 

Stauffenberg and Hurson were honored by the Garden State Journalists Association in April with a second-place nod for Best Sports Broadcast.

The Rowan Report – WGLS-FM’s weekly news show that recaps the day’s important events – collected a Gold Award in the Audio Program category. 

Breanna Ruiz, Lexi Bodnar, Katie Francis, and Kaitlin Kline teamed up to co-host and produce Rowan Radio’s award-winning news show during the fall semester. 

The Hermes Creative Awards is an annual international competition that celebrates the best of communication and marketing from media organizations to Fortune 500 companies. 

Rowan Radio has won 310 regional and national awards since 1993.