Four Rowan student productions named national finalists for CBI Awards

Four Rowan student productions named national finalists for CBI Awards

Four Rowan student productions named national finalists for CBI Awards

Courier Post Online, September 15, 2009

Four productions by students in Rowan University's College of Communication have been named national finalists for the 2009 National Student Production Awards presented by College Broadcasters, Inc. (CBI).

“From First Snap to Stagg: The History of Rowan Football” was recognized in the radio documentary category. Produced by 2008 radio/television/film (RTF) alumni Joe Staudenmayer and Jim Vassallo, the program previously won first-place in the 2008 Mark of Excellence national competition sponsored by the Society of Professional Journalists.

Staudenmayer, who also earned his master's degree in public relations from Rowan in May, is a resident of Pennsauken. Vassallo lives in Marlton.

In CBI's radio sports reporting category, Rowan junior EJ Campbell was recognized for “Rowan Sports Minute.” The segment focused on the death of Philadelphia Phillies Hall of Fame broadcaster Harry Kalas. An RTF major, Campbell lives in South Amboy.

Both segments aired on Rowan Radio 89.7 WGLS-FM.

Two documentaries produced in RTF Professor Diana Nicolae's documentary class also have been recognized. Both documentaries appeared on RTN/Channel 5, Rowan's television network.

“Life Behind Beards,” produced this past spring, was named a finalist in the television special broadcast category. Rowan 2009 RTF graduates Steve Hanulec of Woodstown (producer), Dave Monk of Oakland (editor), and Dan Ferrara of Old Tappan (director) worked on the film, as did junior RTF major Ashley Zazzarino of Middletown.

“Generation RX,” produced in 2008, was named a finalist in the television documentary/public affairs category. The film was co-produced by 2008 RTF alumni Melissa Stankowski of Tuckerton and Harry Fleckenstein of Clementon (who also served as director). Tim Hill of Pitman, also a 2008 alumnus, was the film's editor.

National winners in each category will be announced during the 88th annual National College Media Convention in Austin, Texas in October.

According to its website, College Broadcasters, Inc. is an organization for students working in electronic media. CBI encourages involvement in electronic media, relationships with media organizations, and discussion of topics relevant to their field.