Radio documentary on Rowan football wins national SPJ award

Radio documentary on Rowan football wins national SPJ award

Radio documentary on Rowan football wins national SPJ award

Courier Post, May 13, 2009

A radio documentary on the history of Rowan University's football team has won first place in a national competition conducted by the Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ).

“From First Snap to Stagg: A History of Rowan Football” won the Radio Sports Reporting Category in SPJ's 2008 Mark of Excellence competition. The annual competition recognizes college radio, television and cable systems, photography and weekly newspapers, as well as magazines and newsletters.

“We're particularly proud of this award since we were competing against all colleges nationwide,” says Frank Hogan, general manager of Rowan Radio 89.7 WGLS-FM.

“From First Snap to Stagg,” a 60-minute documentary, was produced by 2008 Rowan radio/television/film (RTF) graduates Joe Staudenmayer of Pennsauken and Jim Vassallo of Marlton.

Staudenmayer, a graduate assistant at WGLS-FM, will receive his master's degree in public relations from the University on Thursday. Vassallo, former sports director at WGLS-FM, now runs his own internet writing firm.

The award will be presented at the annual SPJ National Journalism Conference in Indianapolis in August.

“From First Snap to Stagg” begins with a discussion of the original 1947 Glassboro State College football team and includes interviews with Dave Rosen, Harry Beaudet and Bill Kushner, all players from that era.

Interviews with all five living head coaches--Jay Accorsi, K.C. Keeler, John Bunting, Ted Kershner, and Richard Wackar--are included in the documentary, as is commentary from Rowan athletic director Joy Solomen, a Rowan alumna in her 22nd year leading the University's athletics program.

“Stagg” in the documentary's title refers to the Amos Alonzo Stagg Bowl, the Division III national championship tournament. Rowan has played in the Stagg Bowl five times in the past 14 years.